What does it mean when your left ear is ringing?

Tinnitus is when you experience ringing or other noises in one or both of your ears. Ringing in ears can have causes that aren't due to underlying disease. Examples include exposure to loud sounds, whiplash, head injuries, too much ear wax, or medication side effects