Can you bring a lighter on an airplane?

Passengers can carry one lighter with them on their flight. A standard lighter that is empty of fuel is permitted in your checked baggage. Despite lighters being permitted for air travel, carrying one can cause you to be delayed slightly if a TSA officer inspects the item.