What was the white water scandal about?

The Whitewater scandal was a series of investigations into an Arkansas real estate deal involving then Arkansas governor Bill Clinton and his wife Hillary. Since there no illegality found and since the Clintons actually lost money on the deal, the matter was later dropped by law enforcement.