When were sweet tarts made?

Sweet Tarts are sweet and sour candies invented by the owner of Sunline Jeff Sousa in 1962. The tablets were created using the same basic recipe as the already popular Pixy Stix and Lik-M-Aid products, in response to parents' requests for a less-messy candy.