Is sugar added to wine?

Sugar is not added to red wine. Grapes naturally contain sugar, and during the fermentation process, the sugar is converted into alcohol. Some wines may taste slightly sweet because of the residual sugar that is left after fermentation, but no additional sugar is added to red wine.