What is a humanoid being?

A humanoid being is a nonhuman creature or being, with characteristics resembling those of a human, such as the ability to walk upright. Other synonyms are: anthropoid, creatural, hominid, humanlike. It is used in science fiction, or in evolutionary studies of the history of primates.