What is a farewell appearance?

A Farewell appearance refers to an act (singer, dancer, band, artist or actor) making their last appearance in front of a public audience. For example, the biopic, Bohemian Rhapsody, makes it seem like Freddy Mercury & Queen's farewell appearance was at Live Aid in July 1985. But it actually wasn't.