What is the eye of cthulhu?

The Eye of Cthulhu is a pre-Hardmode boss. It is one of the first bosses a player encounters, as it spawns automatically when a relatively early level of game advancement is achieved. It can also be summoned manually with the Suspicious Looking Eye