Where does the saying cat got your tongue come from?

Although many believe the “cat” in question is of the feline variety, it’s actually the cat o’ nine tails, a whip commonly used to flog sailors who misbehaved. On ships, sailors entrusted with a secret would be threatened with “the cat” for telling; thus, the saying 'has the cat got your tongue?'