How does arsenic work?

Arsenic is a well-known poison. ... Arsenic is used as a doping agent in semiconductors (gallium arsenide) for solid-state devices. It is also used in bronzing, pyrotechnics and for hardening shot. Arsenic compounds can be used to make special glass and preserve wood.