Where is lake gitche gumee?

Gitche Gumee is another name for Lake Superior, one of the Great Lakes located in the United States. Ggitchi-gami means "great sea." Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote the name as "Gitche Gumee" in The Song of Hiawatha, as did Gordon Lightfoot in his song, "The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald"

---

Lake Gitche Gumee is another name for Lake Superior, the largest of the Great Lakes of North America. It comes from the Ojibwe name for the lake.