What's the difference between a green onion and a yellow onion?

Green onions generally are sold in bunches, and are about as big around as your index finger. They have long, tender green tops which are completely edible, and they don't cause tears when sliced. Yellow onions are round, and have a papery skin that needs peeled prior to eating, and they cause tears

---

Green onions are rarely larger than the diameter of your thumb--and they have long, edible, green stems; the entire onion is edible. Yellow onions form globe-like roots that can be sliced or chopped, and must be peeled before eating.