Does ketchup stain?

It can. Remove any excess ketchup with a spoon or knife, not to rub it into the fabric. Avoid dabbing at it as this can spread the stain. If the garment is washable, remove the garment as soon as possible and run cold water through the stain from the backside to force the stain out of the clothing.