What does the j. stand for in rocket j. squirrel?

Rocky the Flying Squirrel's full name is Rocket "Rocky" J. Squirrel. Both Rocky and his partner Bullwinkle were given the middle initial "J" as a reference to Jay Ward the show's producer.