What is the average temperature of tap water?

Tap water from the northern states compared to the south can vary by as much as 6 to 10 degrees. The average temperature of water in northern states is 45.1 degrees Fahrenheit. The average temperature of cold drinking water in southern states is 50 degrees Fahrenheit.