Who created brushes?

In ancient Egypt all the way to Bourbon France, elaborate hairstyles that include ornate headdresses and wigs have been used to display wealth and social status. Because of their primary use as a styling tool, hairbrushes were an indulgence reserved exclusively for those with money.