What kind of animal is knuckles from sonic?

Knuckles is a 16-year-old red anthropomorphic echidna, He was born in 1987 the only living descendant of a well-established clan of echidnas.

---

Knuckles is an echidna. The echidna or spiny anteater, has spines like a porcupine, a beak like a bird, a pouch like a kangaroo, and lays eggs like a reptile. They are native to Australia, Tasmania, and New Guinea.