Why is candy made?

Candy is a sweet treat enjoyed globally. It is believed that candy dates back to the ancient Egyptians at around 2000BC. The first candies were made from honey mixed with fruit or nuts. Mass production began with a chocolate bar in 1866, and today, there are thousands of varieties and flavors.