When was the super bowl invented?

The first Super Bowl, which featured the AFL (Kansas City) and NFL champion (Green Bay), was played on January 15, 1967. The game was originally called the “AFL-NFL World Championship Game.” Later, Chiefs owner Lamar Hunt proposed using the term “Super Bowl” to refer to the championship game.