What is a bracken specter?

A Brocken spectre is the magnified shadow of an observer cast upon clouds opposite the Sun's direction. The figure's head is often surrounded by the halo-like rings of coloured light forming a glory, which appears when uniformly-sized water droplets in clouds refract and backscatter sunlight.