Is there a legend about the yellow rose?

One of the enduring legends of the Texas Revolution is that of the “Yellow Rose of Texas” and her role in the defeat of Santa Anna’s forces at San Jacinto. Like most of the legends surrounding the Texas Revolution, the story is based on evidence, but has taken on a life of its own over the years.