How can you tell the difference between a fruit and a vegetable?

Technically, botanically, a fruit is anything budded off a plant with seeds, the fruit being there to nourish the seeds as they grow, and a vegetable would be anything else. Colloquially, fruits are generally sweet and vegetables are not.