What is a tilley hat?

The most common Tilley hat is a bush or boonie-style hat with snaps on the brim to allow one or both sides to be snapped in the up position. Tilley endurables is a Canadian hat company founded in 1980 by Alex Tilley. Best known for its hats, it also manufactures travel clothing and some accessories.