Why is sugar sweet?

The sweetness of sugar comes from a chemical interaction between sugar molecules and sweet taste receptor cells, which are found in our taste buds and on the roof of our mouth.

---

Hydrogen bonds between sugar and nearby molecules help to determine the level of sweetness. Sugars are thought to owe their sweet taste to the particular pattern of bonds that atoms in sugar molecules form with receptor proteins in taste buds.