What was the name of kenny rogers band?

Kenny Rogers & the First Edition

---

In 1966 he joined the New Christy Minstrels, a folk group started by Randy Sparks in 1961. After a year Rogers and a few other Minstrels left to form their own ensemble, the First Edition.