When did shakespeare write romeo and juliet?

Shakespeare wrote Romeo and Juliet between 1594-1596. It was first published in 1597.

---

Romeo and Juliet, play by William Shakespeare, written about 1594–96 and first published in an unauthorized quarto in 1597. An authorized quarto appeared in 1599, substantially longer and more reliable. A third quarto, based on the second, was used by the editors of the First Folio of 1623.