What's the origin of the electoral college?

At the Constitutional Convention in 1787,the founders came up with the idea of electoral intermediaries. These intermediaries wouldn’t be picked by Congress or elected by the people. Instead, the states would each appoint independent electors who would cast the actual ballots for the presidency.