Who is the first woman to lie in state at the u. s. capital?

After her death in 2020, U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg became the first woman to lie in state -- an honor reserved for government officials. Civil rights icon Rosa Parks, a private citizen, was accorded the recognition of “lying in honor” at the U.S. Capitol after her 2005 death.