What was the first phone ever made?

Johann Philipp Reis, 1860, constructed prototype 'make-and-break' telephones, today called Reis telephone. Alexander Graham Bell was awarded the first U.S. patent for the invention of the telephone in 1876. Elisha Gray, 1876, designed a telephone using a water microphone in Highland Park, Illinois.