Why do we have to fart?

Farting is a normal part of digestion that reflects the activity of the bacteria in your gut. When you eat certain foods that are difficult to digest, such as beans or raw vegetables, you will fart more often. Excessive farting, called flatulence, can be a sign of a health problem.

---

Gases produced during the digestive process cause farts. Everyone farts, but certain foods, medications or medical conditions can cause you to farts more often.