What's the current fruit?

Currants are the edible berries of a deciduous shrub, Grossulariaceae, which may be eaten raw, but are usually cooked in sweet or savoury dishes, and are also used to make jams,preserves,syrups,and juices. Ribes rubrum (red currant), and Ribes nigrum (black currant, or cassis), are common varieties.