How do you get an ax on animal crossing?

All you have to do is head to Tom Nook in his tent while holding a few different bugs and fish. After speaking with him, you can choose from a prompt saying that you found a creature. Donate two creatures, and he'll reward you with a DIY recipe to make a Flimsy Axe.