What is the poteet strawberry festival?

What began as a way to grow more strawberries in South Texas, sprouted into a 70-year tradition. The Poteet Strawberry Festival, held in the town about 30 miles south of the Alamo City, has its roots in 1948 as a way of encouraging returning WW II veterans to farm & promote local agriculture.