When are kiwis ripe?

A kiwi is ripe when it gives a little when pressed on with a couple of fingers. If it doesn't yield to the touch, leave it at room temperature for a day and check again. You can speed the ripening by putting kiwis in a paper bag. You can slow the ripening by putting them in the refrigerator.