What's a substitute for white cooking wine?

Chicken or vegetable broth may be used as a replacement for white wine. If the acidity of the wine is desired, a little lemon juice or vinegar can be added to the broth. If broth is used instead of wine, the salt content of the recipe might need to be reduced.