What is an evening constitutional?

An Evening Constitutional. A constitutional, as defined by dictionary.com, is a mild walk or exercise taken to benefit one's health. In previous centuries, regal men and women would take constitutionals after their supper to help with digestion and to pontificate about the world around them.