Who is the onions?

The Onion: American satirical digital media company &newspaper org.. Publishes articles on international, national &local news. Chicago based but started as weekly print 1-29-1988 in Madison, WI. 2007 began publishing satirical news audio &video online as the OnionNews Network. Per Wikipedia.com.