Who is edwin hawkins?

Edwin Reuben Hawkins was an American gospel musician, pianist, choir master, composer, and arranger. He was the leader of the Edwin Hawkins Singers and probably best known for his arrangement of "Oh Happy Day".

---

Edwin Reuben Hawkins was an American gospel musician, pianist, choir master, composer, and arranger. He was one of the originators of the urban contemporary gospel sound. He was probably best known for his arrangement of "Oh Happy Day", which was included on the "Songs of the Century" list.