Where did elon musk make most of his money?

Elon Musk was born into a wealthy family. He has said that his father owned emerald mines in South Africa and that his family owned a private plane. As an adult, he grew his fortune by investing in business ventures such as PayPal, SpaceX, DeepMind Technologies, Tesla, and The Boring Company.