How do you get rid of fleas in a room?

A non-toxic way to trap fleas is to put down a shallow pan of water with a drop of liquid dish soap to break the surface tension. Point a desk lamp at it to attract the fleas, but leave distance to ensure it cannot fall in the water. Fleas will jump in, sink, and drown.