What is the difference between a jet ski and a wave runner?

According to seathecity.com, the main difference between a jet ski and a waverunner is the driving position. A Jet Ski offers a more adventurous position than a Waverunner. That’s because unlike the Waverunner, you’ll most likely be standing up while piloting a Jet Ski.