What does vanilla extract come from?

Vanilla extract comes from soaking ground vanilla beans in an alcohol-based solution for up to two months. Most of the world's supply of vanilla extract is produced in the United States and Europe. But the vanilla bean itself is still most notably from Madagascar, Papua New Guinea, and Indonesia.