How do you activate the sharingan?

The Sharingan does not automatically appear from birth in a user; the user has to awaken it. To awaken the Sharingan, an Uchiha has to have an extreme emotion condition which causes their brain to release a special type of chakra, which will then cause their eyes to transform into Sharingan.