What's the difference between a hipster and a hippie?

A hipster is a person who follows the latest trends and fashions, often in an ironic or countercultural way. A hippie is a person who advocates for peace and love and often rejects mainstream culture and values.

---

It is believed that the term 'hippie' was coined from the word 'hipster'. Though both were for counter culture, hipsters did not want to conform to the mainstream cultural norms whereas hippies rejected the conventional values and norms and wanted to be free from societal restrictions