Why do mosquitoes bite some people and not others?

Besides carbon dioxide, mosquitoes seem to have a nose for other scents, such as lactic acid, uric acid, ammonia and other compounds emitted in sweat. They also prefer warm bodies. Exercise increases the buildup of lactic acid and heat, making a warm, sweaty body more appealing to mosquitoes.