Why did jerry leave hawaii five o.?

In end of Season 9 of Hawaii 5-O Jerry Ortega (Jorge Garcia) was shot. The bullet didn't kill Jerry, but it did kill his main cast member status. Jerry takes time to recover and reconsider his own life. He makes the decision to leave the Hawaii 5-O task force, and follow his dream of writing a book.