How do i cut a mango?

Start with a ripe but still-firm fruit. Cut into 3 slices, 2 on either side of the flattish pit and 1 containing the pit. Make horizontal and vertical cuts through the 2 sections with a knife, trying not to cut the peel. It should look like a checkerboard. Turn it inside-out and peel away the cubes.