What is the story of pandora's box?

When Prometheus stole fire from heaven, Zeus presented Pandora to Epimetheus. Pandora opened a jar left in her care containing all the evils which were then released into the world. Though she hastened to close the container, only one thing was left behind – usually translated as Hope.