What are the differences between baking soda and baking powder?

Baking soda is only sodium bicarbonate, which requires an acid and a liquid to become active. It reacts with lemon juice or vinegar to help baked foods rise. Baking powder includes both sodium bicarbonate, as well as an acid. It only needs a liquid like water to be activated.