How do you get a llama to follow you in minecraft?

Similar to horses, donkeys, and mules, llamas are tamed by repeated attempts at riding until they no longer throw you off. Llamas cannot be controlled by players because they can't be saddled. However, a lead can be attached to have it follow a player.